So you’d like to demo Azure AD to your customers or want to get the feel of it?  Perhaps you have Azure via MSDN and would like to spin it up on the fly for a demo environment?

It’s so easy you won’t believe the answer (I almost fell down flat when it was shown to me, it was so obvious)

First off Log in to your Azure Subscription.  

Once there navigate to the left hand side and choose your Directory Services link.  As you can see I have two Directories in this subscription.  

image

As this is for a Demo for a customer I can create a brand new Azure AD within my existing subscription.

image

Fill in the appropriate fields for titles, dnsname, etc etc…

image

As you can see I now have a THIRD directory structure called eotdemoazuread12345

image

I can now select this Directory and create users within it, such as it’s OWN Administrator.

image

image

If you’ll note this Azure Ad I have spun up has it’s own UNIQUE ‘.onmicrosoft.com’ loginid.  In this case the user is a Global Admin of this new Directory with an id of ‘demoadmin@eotazuread54321.onmicrosoft.com’

Next select the ‘LICENSES’ link and then click on ‘TRY AZURE ACTIVE DIRECTORY PREMIUM NOW’

image

Accept the End User License Agreement and wait for a bit

image

In a few moments you will have new LIVE Azure AD with all the capabilities of Azure AD Premium at your disposal for the next 90 days.  This new AzureAD can EVEN be Synchronized with Active Directory on Premise.

Then after 90 days when you’re done?  Just delete the subscription and remove that Azure AD Instance.   When you want another for a Demo, just start the process over again.

And stay tuned…. next post I’ll show you how to do this in PowerShell!

Sean
the Energized Tech

