Tags


Powershell

I’ve been listening to a LOT of “Green Day” lately and this one tune from “American Idiot” keeps hitting the top of the list on my cheap MP3 player. 

So I rewrote it 🙂

Original Song – “Are We the Waiting” from “Green Day” redone as

“We are the Scripters”

Part 1 – vbScript

Quiet Times
Parsing Lines
Floating down like a dream

Brain Unfurled
An Ascii World
On my Screen

(Repeat 2x)
Are we
We are

The Scripters Alone

We automate
integrate
Setting free

The systems and
Data stores
that You see

We’re shouting!

(Repeat 2x)
Are we
We are

The Scripters

We’re shouting!

(Repeat 2x)
Are we
We are

The Scripters

Dim Constants
Quiet Chants
As I script in VB

Tiny Code
Brain Overload
Not in C

(Repeat 2x)
Are we
We are

The Scripters Alone

We monitor all
The systems tall
That you see

Our Data is
Protected by
APC

(Repeat 5x)

Are we
We are

Are we
We are
The Scripters

Part 2 – Powershell

Lord Jeffrey burst on out
a Blueness in his hands

Gleam shining in his eyes,
casting out among the lands

Know what your gonna Get?

Big Bag of CommandLets.

Launching quickly OUT-HOST

PIPE! PIPE! PIPE! PIPE!

My name is Jeffrey
And I’m casting out my code
A system full of Power that will make your head explode

A simple Verb-Noun combo
And a little Dotnet

You’ll Feel the Power of Shell with a single Commandlet

With a single Function and Profile
Throw in a snapin
take you down a mile!

I’ve Got myself that PowerGUI
I’ve got that Quest A/D
And if that is way too hard
I’ve got an ISE

I’ll just Pipe those Objects
Right on down the line
I’m cruisin’ away in Powershell
There’s no Stoppin’ sign

With a single Function and Profile
Throw in a snapin take you down a mile!

Part 3 – Saint Jeffrey

My name is Saint Jeffrey
I’m the Lord of the Shell
Patron Saint of the ItPros

I release out unto thee
What thy hath decreed
To be a way
that to vaquish thy Foes

No more vbScriptin’
And no more of the batch
Just a way we can unify

All of our solutions
Community Contributions
To launch us to the Azure Sky

It’s Powershell
It’s here for me
It’s Powershell
It set us Free!

