Tags


Powershell

In the newest version of Powershell we have the Powershell ISE (Integrated Scripting Environment) which gives you a great free way to test and edit your scripts.   But I stumbled across something just today.

Yes, we can DEFINITELY chalk up to I didn’t “Read The Finelyprinted Manual” but the Powershell ISE has it’s OWN Profile! I ran into this when every time I went to test my Quest scripts the Snapin wasn’t there.

It makes sense.  The test environment SHOULD be clean.  But I need mine to match my “production” Powershell setup.

And just like your regular profile it’s easy to access.  

Within the Powershell ISE launch a

NOTEPAD $PROFILE

Which of course launches the Windows Notepad so you can actually create and edit the Profile (if you need to at it).  It’s best to keep it clean.  I just added the Quest Cmdlets to mine so I can now edit my regular scripts without having to keep typing in a ADD-PSSNAPIN

It sit’s in the same location when it’s saved as your standard personal Powershell profile but it’s name is Microsoft.PowershellISE_profile.ps1

 

Empowering the many with Powershell

Sean
The Energized Tech

