Tags


Well I had a real head scratcher.

Had to setup a feature on a pc called “NETPRINTQUEUE2FAX” from GFI.  The procedure is dead simple.

Add UNC Virtual printer from GFI Fax server (just like adding any other printer)

Send documents to Printer with formatted commands.

Sit back and enjoy Frosty Beverages from a job well done.

Or that’s how it was supposed to be.  I knew there was nothing wrong with the server.   The guy that put it together was my boss who really knows his stuff.

And when I asked him “Hey, did you ever get the following problems adding this feature before?” He looked at me as if I had big pink antennae coming out of my head and I was wear a large fluffy koala bear for shoes.

Yes.  This seemed to be a truly dumb question waiting for an answer.

But I plugged away at it.   Here’s what happened.  On an X64 Server 2008 box, you would connect to the printer, life was good and nothing worked when you sent to the printer.  No errors, No application logs saying anything.

Not even a peep.

So I decided to go the other path.  Try the 32bit driver instead.

It looked at me and laughed.

When I added the 32 bit driver on a 32 bit Vista machine it kept WHINING and COMPLAINING about “I can’t find FAXMAKER.CAT”

So I searched.  I dug through GIGS and GIGS of file storage.  This file didn’t exist!

I pulled off a couple of tricks and yanked the MSI files for both the 64 bit version and the 32 bit version out of the TEMP folders.  And running a neat little trick from this article on Tech-Recipes.com I pulled out ALL the files the installers dumped.

But try as I might.  This file was from the PHANTOM ZONE!

Then I thought, let’s try a different approach.  Let’s add the driver first.  If the driver files are REALLY corrupt, then they won’t add.

And so I did.  I went to the list of printers.  I pulled up “File/Run as Administrator/Server Properties” to get my list of drivers.   I added the driver manually, browsed to the folder on GFI where the drivers were kept and SURPRISE!

And what do you think popped up in front of me the minute I tried?  This lovely little message

image

Hmmm so it appears the drivers were failing halfway through the install.  An no error message either!  Thanks a lot GFI!

So I manually added the drivers to each computer through the Printer console.  Both the 64bit *AND* the 32bit gave the same error.  But after being added FIRST and agreeing to the evil red error message, connecting to the NETPRINTQUEUE2FAX printer afterwards was fine.   In fact I was actually sending faxes with no problem.

So if you’re running GFI Faxmaker banging your head against the wall WHY the NETPRINTQUEUE2FAX isn’t working in Vista?  Take this answer and use it.

And *ahem*.  Somebody give GFI a little kick in the pants for lack of Quality Control. 

